For BSc, MSc Graduates and PhD Students
of Automotive, Mechanical, E/E, Mechatronical and Mobility Engineering


2,000 €

PECHA KUCHA* Present your paper live on stage!

The finalists 2019

Dr. Philipp Neubauer

Dr. Philipp Neubauer,
TU Darmstadt / Acoustic Engineer, Continental Engineering Services GmbH

Topic of the Master Thesis:
Design of acoustically optimized inequidistant gears

Bernd Morhard

Bernd Morhard,
TU Munich / Doctoral Candidate, Gear Research Center (FZG), Garching

Topic of the Master Thesis:
Simulative Investigations on the Efficiency Behaviour of a High Speed Electromechanical Powertrain

Jochen Dittmann

Jochen Dittmann,
LU Hannover / Research Assistant, Institute for Propulsion Systems and Power Electronics, Hannover

Topic of the Master Thesis:
Design and analysis of electrically excited synchronous machines with deltaconnected windings for electric vehicles

Dr. Philipp Neubauer won first prize. Bernd Morhard took the second and Jochen Dittmann the third place.

Sieger Award 2018

Conditions of entry and selection criteria

The award is open to BSc, MSc and PhD theses written in the field of automotive and mechanical engineering, electric/electronics, mechatronics, mobility and transportation that were completed after 1 November 2019, and which have been graded as ‘excellent’. We welcome all topics that examine solutions and concepts relating to any aspect of automotive transmission & powertrain development and environmental friendliness. The assessment criteria are: innovation, originality, and practical relevance for tomorrow’s sustainable, efficient and cost-effective drive technology.

Apply now

One submission per applicant only

* More information about Pecha Kucha presentations, as well as examples, can be found here:
Please note that we will use a short version of Pecha Kucha! Further information about the requirements of the poster and the master slides of the presentation will be provided once the panel has decided on the finalists.

How to enter for 2020

Please submit the following by email:

The summary of the paper/thesis in English
(2 pages and max. 4 images) describing the task and the solution, and explaining why the paper is innovative
Proof of grading (confirmation by the examiner)
A short CV and a color portrait photo
Your full contact details
Apply now for 2020

Your Contact

Lucas Linke
Young Drivetrain Experts Award
+49 211.88743-3645

Closing date for entries:
1 November 2020

Awards ceremony + paper presentation:
9 December 2020


Prof. Dr Ferit Küçükay,
Technische Universität Braunschweig
Prof. Dr Peter Tenberge,
Ruhr-Universität Bochum
Prof. Dr Stephan Rinderknecht,
Technische Universität Darmstadt
Dipl.-Ing. Sascha Ott,
Karlsruhe Institute of Technology

2020 under the patronage of:

Federal Minister for Economic Affairs and Energy Peter Altmaier

Impressions CTI Young Drive Experts Award 2019

When they read my name out at the CTI Young Drive Experts Award, I could hardly believe it! A few moments later I was up on stage in front of about 1,350 specialists, being honoured for my work. During the Symposium and at the evening event, I got to talk to lots of attendees about my project. Winning the CTI Young Drive Experts Award has confirmed my belief that I’m on the right track. To anyone who has written a student paper or dissertation, all I can say is: enter!

Dr Mark Schudeleit, Manager System Integration Vehicle Electrification, Continental Engineering Services